TODAY.AZ / Politics

Euro 2020: Wales wins over Turkey [UPDATE]

16 June 2021 [22:15] - TODAY.AZ

By Azernews

By Laman Ismayilova

The Wales national team has won over Turkey in the Euro 2020 Group A. The match ended with the victory of the Wales national team with a score of 2: 0.

Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev, First Lady Mehriban Aliyeva, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, First Lady  Emine Erdogan watched the match held within UEFA European Football Championship.

The match took place Baku Olympic Stadium. Before the match, hundreds of football fans flocked to the streets in Baku in the soccer uniform of the Turkish national team to support the fraternal country. 

Three matches are planned to be held in Baku within EURO 2020.

EURO 2020 is being held from June 11 to July 11 in 11 European cities. Four Group A games will be held in Baku within EURO 2020.

The first match of the group was held in Baku on June 12 between Switzerland and Wales (1:1)result, while Italy beat Turkey, 3:0. Meanwhile,  1/4 final game will take place in Baku on July 3.

The 2020 UEFA European Football Championship, commonly referred to as 2020 UEFA European Championship, UEFA Euro 2020, or simply Euro 2020, is the 16th UEFA European Championship, the quadrennial international men's football championship of Europe organised by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA).

The tournament, being held in 11 cities in 11 UEFA countries, was originally scheduled from June 12  to July 12, 2020, but was postponed amid COVID-19 pandemic and rescheduled for 11 June to 11 July 2021. It retains the name "UEFA Euro 2020".


Print version

Views: 237

Connect with us. Get latest news and updates.

Recommend news to friend

  • Your name:
  • Your e-mail:
  • Friend's name:
  • Friend's e-mail: