TODAY.AZ / World news

Armenia can become Customs Union member in 2014

07 March 2014 [10:00] - TODAY.AZ
Armenia can become a member of the Customs Union of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan in 2014, chairman of the board of the Eurasian Economic Commission Viktor Khristenko said on March 6, RIA Novosti reported.

"I think Armenia's accession will be legally registered in 2014," he told the media.

Khristenko said that the presidents were informed about the preliminary results of Armenia's fulfilling the roadmap for accession to the Customs Union at the summit of the Eurasian Economic Commission in Moscow on March 5.

"One can say that Armenia has made a big step forward for the road map implementation in the two months that have passed since the December summit," he said. "I am optimistic about Armenia's opportunity and ability to realize those 260 road map points."

Eurasian Customs Union is a form of trade and economic integration of Belarus, Kazakhstan and the Russian Federation. It envisages a unified customs territory. The customs duties and economic restrictions, except for special protective, antidumping and countervailing measures, are not used in the mutual trade in goods. Customs Union member states use a common customs tariff and other common measures regulating trade with third countries.

The Customs Union of the three countries began operating in January 2012. Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Syria, Vietnam and New Zealand expressed their desire to join the union.

Following talks with Russian President Vladimir Putin in Moscow in early September, Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan stated that he "reaffirmed Armenia's desire to join the Customs Union and to be involved in formation process of the Eurasian Economic Community".



Print version

Views: 931

Connect with us. Get latest news and updates.

Recommend news to friend

  • Your name:
  • Your e-mail:
  • Friend's name:
  • Friend's e-mail: