TODAY.AZ / Politics

OSCE middlemen pay visit to two occupied Azerbaijani territories

15 May 2014 [11:40] - TODAY.AZ
OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs, Jacques Faure (France), James Warlick (U.S.) and Igor Popov (Russia) will visit Azerbaijan's Kalbajar and Lachin regions occupied by Armenia.

The U.S. co-chair of the OSCE Minsk Group, James Warlick wrote about this on his Twitter page on May 15.

OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs will pay a visit to the region with a fact-finding mission next week.

The Minsk Group, the activities of which have become known as the Minsk Process, spearheads the OSCE's efforts to find a peaceful solution to the Armenian-Azerbaijani Nagorno-Karabakh conflict.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The two countries signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, Russia, France and the U.S. are currently holding peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented the U.N. Security Council's four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.



Print version

Views: 951

Connect with us. Get latest news and updates.

Recommend news to friend

  • Your name:
  • Your e-mail:
  • Friend's name:
  • Friend's e-mail: