TODAY.AZ / Arts & Entertainment

Where is Eurovision 2014? Date, entry details, semi-finals, voting and more

08 April 2014 [08:00] - TODAY.AZ
The 59th annual Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Copenhagen in May

It's the biggest music competition in the world and the Eurovision Song Contest 2014 is edging closer and closer.

Copenhagen will be the host city this year following Emmelie de Forest's triumph for Denmark in 2013 with her entry Only Teardrops, but for the first time in many years the United Kingdom is in with a real shot at winning.

Last year the UK didn't do amazingly well, with Bonnie Tyler's Believe in Me coming just 19th of the 26 finalists, but after a long wait this time it could be our year.

Relative unknown, the wonderfully talented Molly Smitten-Downs will represent us this year with her song Children of the Universe.

We last won Eurovision in 1997 with Katrina and the Waves' Love Shine a Light, and fingers crossed, we'll be able to repeat it in Denmark in May.

Over the coming weeks we'll be profiling every single contestant and bringing you all the Eurovision knowledge that you could want and more, but for now we've got everything you need to know about this year's contest and how you can get tickets for the Eurovision Song Contest 2014, in Copenhagen.

When will Eurovision 2014 be held?

The competition will begin with the Jury final on Monday 5 May 2014, with shows continuing up until the Grand Final which will take place on Saturday 10 May at 8pm.

Monday May 5 First Jury Final
Tuesday May 6 First Semi-final
Wednesday May 7 Second Jury Final
Thursday May 8 Second Semi-final
Friday May 9 Third Jury Final
Saturday May 10 Grand Final

When can you buy Eurovision 2014 tickets?

Tickets for the competition are already on sale.

One third of all the tickets were released back in November with the next third made available on 31 January 2014. The remaining tickets go on sale in April.

Tickets will cost €14-€242 (£12-£202) excluding any booking fees.

Where will it be held?

Denmark are the reigning champions after Emmelie de Forest romped to victory with her song Only Teardrops which received 281 points, so will host the 2014 contest.

Copenhagen has been announced as the host city - just 25 miles away from where the competition was held last year in the Swedish city of Malmö.

The event will be held in a former shipyard at the B&W Hallerne at the Refshaleøen which is being extensively renovated to host the 59th annual competition.

Copenhagen last hosted the contest in 2001, so everything should go smoothly in May.

Who will compete?

There are 37 countries hoping to reach the final of this year's Eurovision song contest. 16 of those will take part in the first semi final while a further 15 will go head to head in the second.

Six countries are automatically guaranteed entry into the grand final. Of these six, the previous winner - Denmark this year - is given an automatic pass alongside the so-called Big Five.

These countries - who are the five largest financial contributors to the contest - are rewarded for that with automatic entry, but of the remaining 31 countries, only 20 will be able to reach the live final.

First semi-final

Armenia - Aram MP3 with Not Alone
Latvia - Aarzemniekl with Cake to Bake
Estonia - Tanja with Amazing
Sweden - Sanna Nielsen with Undo
Iceland - Pollapönk with No Prejudice
Albania - Hersi with One Night's Anger
Russia - Tolmachevy Sisters with Shine
Azerbaijan - Dilara Kazimova with Start a Fire
Ukraine - Mariya Yaremchuk with Tik-Tock
Belgium - Axel Hirsoux with Mother
Moldova - Cristina Scarlat with Wild Soul
San Marino - Valentina Monetta with Maybe (Forse)
Portugal - Suzy with Quero Ser Tua
The Netherlands - The Common Linnets with Calm After the Storm
Montenegro - Sergej Cetkovic with Moj Svijet
Hungary - András Kállay-Saunders with Running

Second semi-final

Malta - Firelight with Coming Home
Israel - Mei Finegold with Same Heart
Norway - Carl Espen with Silent Storm
Georgia - The Shin and Mariko with Three Minutes to Earth
Poland - Donatan & Cleo with My Slowianie - We Are Slavic
Austria - Conchita Wurst with Rise Like a Phoenix
Lithuania - Vilija Mataaianaita with Attention
Finland - Softengine with Something Better
Ireland - Can-Linn (featuring Kasey Smith) Heartbeat
Belarus - Teo with Cheesecake
F.Y.R. Macedonia - Tijana with To the Sky
Switzerland - Sebalter with Hunter of Stars
Greece - Freaky Fortune feat. RiskyKidd with Rise Up
Slovenia - Tinkara Kova? with Round and round
Romania - Paula Seling & OVI with Miracle

Grand Final

Denmark - Basim with Cliche Love Song
Germany - Elaiza with Is it right
United Kingdom - Molly with Children of the Universe
France - TWIN TWIN with Moustache
Spain - Ruth Lorenzo with Dancing in the Rain
Italy - Emma with La Mia Città



Print version

Views: 1432

Connect with us. Get latest news and updates.

Recommend news to friend

  • Your name:
  • Your e-mail:
  • Friend's name:
  • Friend's e-mail:

See Also