TODAY.AZ / Arts & Entertainment

Nobel Laureate Pamuk on list for another award

05 March 2013 [11:20] - TODAY.AZ
The Independent Foreign Fiction Prize, which honors the best work of fiction by a living author translated into English from any other language and published in the United Kingdom, has announced its long-list.

Turkish Nobel laureate Orhan Pamuk’s “Silent House” is featured on the list alongside 15 other works of fiction. Pamuk previously won the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize in 1990 for his novel “The White Castle.”

Turkish author Elif ?afak is among the selection committee who will announce the short-list on April 11. The award will be presented to the winner in May.

The other works of fiction featured on the long-list are as follows:

Gerbrand Bakker’s “Ten White Geese,” Chris Barnard’s “Bundu,” Laurent Binet’s “HHhH,” Dasa Drndic’s “Trieste,” Pawel Huelle’s “Cold Sea Stories,” Pia Juul’s “Murder of Halland,” Ismail Kadare’s “The Fall of the Stone City,” Khaled Khalifa’s “In Praise of Hatred,” Karl Ove Knausgaard’s “A Death in the Family,” Laszlo Krasznahorkai’s “Satantango,” Alain Mabanckou’s “Black Bazaar,” Diego Marani’s “The Last of the Vostyachs,” Andrés Neuman’s “Traveler of the Century,” Juan Gabriel Vásquez’s “The Sound of Things Falling” and Enrique Vila-Matas’s “Dublinesque.”


Print version

Views: 1642

Connect with us. Get latest news and updates.

Recommend news to friend

  • Your name:
  • Your e-mail:
  • Friend's name:
  • Friend's e-mail:

See Also