TODAY.AZ / World news

Turkey's PM awarded by Arab world for "services to Islam"

12 January 2010 [19:00] - TODAY.AZ
Turkey's Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan was selected by the foundation for "his services to Islam".
Turkey's Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan is announced the winner of "King Faisal International Prize" which is considered the "Nobel prize" of the Arab world.

The award, which is given every year by Saudi Arabia's King Faisal Foundation, is presented to scientists and people who create positive differences in the world and make contributions to Islam.

This year's winners were announced at a ceremony held in Riyadh.

Erdogan was selected by the foundation for "his services to Islam".

Commenting on Erdogan's success, Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu, Secretary General of Organization of the Islamic Conference (OIC), said that the foundation decided to award Erdogan as his remarkable contributions and extraordinary successes were highly appreciated.

Pointing to Erdogan's virtuous leadership, Ihsanoglu said the Turkish prime minister contributed to the righteous causes of the Islam world and to the formation of "Alliance of Civilizations" initiative.

King Faisal Foundation was established in 1976 by the eight sons of the late King Faisal ibn Abd Al Aziz, a son of Saudi Arabia's founder and the Kingdom's third monarch. Of the many philanthropic activities of the foundation, the "King Faisal International Prize" is the most widely known.

Each year, the selection committees designate subjects in Islamic Studies, Arabic Literature and Medicine. Nominations for the prizes are accepted from international institutions and organizations only, and not from individuals or political parties.

Winners of the "Prize for Service to Islam" are chosen directly by the respective selection committee.

Each of the prize categories consists of a certificate, hand written in Diwani calligraphy, summarizing the laureate's work; a commemorative 24 carat, 200 gram gold medal, uniquely cast for each Prize; and a cash endowment of SR 750,000 (USD 200,000). Co-winners in any category share the monetary grant. The prizes are awarded during a ceremony in Riyadh, under the auspices of the King of Saudi Arabia.

/World Bulletin/

Print version

Views: 2130

Connect with us. Get latest news and updates.

Recommend news to friend

  • Your name:
  • Your e-mail:
  • Friend's name:
  • Friend's e-mail: