TODAY.AZ / Sports

Pots announced for final draw for 2018 FIFA World Cup

16 November 2017 [16:53] - TODAY.AZ

By  Azertac 

With Peru completing the line-up of 32 teams for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia, we now know the seeding pots for the Final Draw on 1 December, according to the official website of FIFA.

It was confirmed in September, by the Organising Committee for FIFA Competitions, that all teams will be allocated to (eight-team) pots 1 to 4 based on sporting principles. The October 2017 edition of the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking will be used to allocate all qualified teams to the four pots according to their ranking in descending order, after hosts Russia, who take the top seeding spot.

The final pots for the Final Draw:

Group A: Russia, Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland and France.

Group B: Spain, Peru, Switzerland, England, Colombia, Mexico, Uruguay and Croatia.

Group C: Denmark, Iceland, Costa Rica, Sweden, Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal and Iran.

Group D: Serbia, Nigeria, Australia, Japan, Morocco, Panama, Korea Republic and Saudi Arabia.

It is worth remembering that the principle of drawing the teams into the groups will remain unchanged. This means that no teams from the same confederation, with the exception of UEFA, which could have up to two teams in the same group, will be drawn into the same group.

The Final Draw will take place on Friday 1 December at Moscow’s State Kremlin Palace.


Print version

Views: 2890

Connect with us. Get latest news and updates.

Recommend news to friend

  • Your name:
  • Your e-mail:
  • Friend's name:
  • Friend's e-mail: