TODAY.AZ / Politics

Azerbaijan yet has no intentions to join Eurasian Union

12 June 2014 [08:00] - TODAY.AZ
Azerbaijan yet has no intentions and doesn't think about joining the Eurasian Union, Azerbaijani Presidential Administration's Deputy Head and Director of Administration's Foreign Relations Department, Novruz Mammadov told reporters on June 11.

Commenting on Armenia's accession to the Eurasian Union, he stressed that Azerbaijan has no reason to express any concern on this issue.

Mammadov touched upon the meeting of the Supreme Eurasian Council in Astana, on May 29, during which Armenia was urged to join the Customs Union within its internationally recognized borders.

"Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev's position on this issue was expressed by Kazakh President Nursultan Nazarbayev at the meeting. Armenia can be a member of any organization in accordance with these requirements," Mammadov said.

He underscored that Armenia can join any organization under the same conditions in accordance with which it became a member of the UN and the World Trade Organization.

"This is our demand and it will be fulfilled," Mammadov stressed.

During the meeting of the Supreme Eurasian Council in Astana on May 29, Kazakh President Nursultan Nazarbayev appealed to his Armenian counterpart Serzh Sargsyan asking to comply with the UN principles on the officially fixed boundaries while joining the Customs Union.

"The presidents of the three countries received an appeal from the Azerbaijani side urging Armenia to join with a stipulation that the provisions of the WTO and Customs Union must be used within its borders recognized by the international law," Nazarbayev had said.

"If all trade issues are resolved, it is necessary for the Armenian president to resolve the issue that you join the Customs Union within the UN-recognized borders of Armenia," the president said at the time.

He said that this issue must be discussed by all parties in June.

The Eurasian Economic Union will be established on Jan.1, 2015 as part of the Eurasian integration on the basis of the Customs Union of Russia, Kazakhstan and Belarus. It will replace the abolished Eurasian Economic Community (EurAsEC).

EAU territory will exceed 20 million square kilometers, and the population living on this territory will be around 170 million.

The tripartite agreement on the EAU's establishment was signed on May 29, 2014 at a summit in Astana, Kazakhstan.



Print version

Views: 1253

Connect with us. Get latest news and updates.

Recommend news to friend

  • Your name:
  • Your e-mail:
  • Friend's name:
  • Friend's e-mail: