TODAY.AZ / Arts & Entertainment

Best architects awarded in Gabala

09 October 2017 [12:19] - TODAY.AZ

By Azernews

By Laman Ismayilova

The 3rd Baku International Architecture Award ceremony was held in Gabala on October 5.

More than 150 artists from 27 countries participated in the competition, Trend Life reported.

The awarding ceremony brought together prominent public figures, representatives of culture and science, famous architects and artists.

Addressing the event, First Deputy Minister Vagif Aliyev spoke about the history of Azerbaijani architecture and glorious traditions of the architectural school.

The Baku International Architecture Award is an open, biennial award organized by the Culture and Tourism Ministry and the Union of Architects of Azerbaijan (UAA) with the support of the International Union of Architects.

The jury included Vassilis Sgoutas (chair) - former UIA President (Greece), Michel Barmaki - former UIA Secretary General ( Lebanon), Hayder Ali- UIA Region V Vice-President (Suda), Frederic Rago-member of ??? Council (France), Elbay Gasimzada-Chairman of the board UAA.

The main objective of the competition is to discover new ideas for: development and implementation of urban planning and architectural designs, more meaningful design for buildings and structures, search for composition, volumetric and spatial solutions; implementation of practical ideas to achieve the maximum diversity.

Azerbaijan at the competition was represented by 53 architects. Nine of them were awarded with cash prizes.

Winners were awarded in eight categories, including "best implemented project in the architecture of public buildings", "best implemented project in the architecture of residential buildings", "best implemented interiors", "best non-realized project", "best implemented project in the field of landscape architecture", "best implemented project in the field of rehabilitation and reconstruction of buildings", "best publication in the field of architecture" and "best work in the field of  architecture journalism and criticism (online and print)".

The first place winners earned 4000 manats. Second winners got 2500 manats, while the third place winners received 1500 manats.

Nargiz Agayeva, Rizvan Bayramov, Magsud Mammadov, Jahid Alizadeh, Sevda Novruzadeh (Azerbaijan), Elizabeth Abalo Diaz and Gonzalo Alonso Nunez (Spain), Jamilo Rodriguez Rebelo and Susanna Alexandra Martins (Portugal), Eleni Moskovakou (Greece), Lustin Popescu (Romania) and others were recognized as the best architects in various nominations.


Print version

Views: 3224

Connect with us. Get latest news and updates.

Recommend news to friend

  • Your name:
  • Your e-mail:
  • Friend's name:
  • Friend's e-mail: